A Day in Milan | Blog

There is another guest at the house I’m staying at, and she’s never been to Italy before. The village we’re stay at is very small, so as much as we like to walk, there’s nothing new to be seen after almost three weeks. The boredom led us to go on a journey to Milan – a journey that seemed simple at first. We had no plans apart from getting there, so after walking to the nearest train station – which was almost an hour away – we discovered that we’d still have to wait 40min until the next train. It could be worst, but since there wasn’t even a coffee shop, we had to entertain ourselves on empty stomachs and no caffeine. When the train finally arrived, we became more optimistic. Unfortunately the journey wasn’t an hour long, as we were previously told. We finally arrived at our destination at 11am, after leaving the house at 7. At this point we were in a rather bad mood, not talking much and just dreaming about a cup of tea. So far we had seen nothing of Milan apart from the underground, but as soon as we left the station, the first thing I saw was enough to take any bad feelings away.

The Duomo is absolutely beautiful and even greater than I expected it to be. The queue was absurd, so we decided to walk around it and leave the visit to another day. Besides, we were still working on empty stomachs.Seeing as the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II was on our right-hand side, we decided to had our breakfast there. Unfortunately I was too eager to start my meal, so I didn’t take any pictures of it. However, I can assure you it was lovely.

Before arriving in Italy, I had an idea that at some point I’d go to Milan, so I had a list of things I’d like to see there. Due to the morning rush and lack of caffeine, I ended up picking the wrong book and leaving said list at home. We were left with no plans at all. I had a vague idea about what I had written down, so I took the lead and decided that we’d go to Sforza Castle.

I was amazed that a 5 euro ticket covers all of the exhibitions, which were quite fantastic. I’m must admit that I have a rather immature sense of humour and find medieval art quite amusing; their expressions can be used in so many different contexts! I know that more people feel this way by the amount of “medieval memes” I’ve seen on the internet. But I didn’t only stood there and laughed, for there were many stunning pieces to be seen. I can’t pick a favourite, but the following was surely amongst them. It caught my eyes from the other side of the room, so I just had to spend some time analysing its details.

detail-full
Giovanni Antonio Canal, called Canaletto (Venice 1697-1768) – The Molo Towards the Riva degli Schiavoni and the Column of St. Mark, before 1742.

We ended up spending most of our day at the castle, and still didn’t see it all. We decided that it was enough when we were faced with hunger once more. As we started to walk around the streets, we came around a very peculiar neighbourhood; it was filled with restaurants and had tables all over the streets. It was extremely busy, so we just guessed that it would be a good place to eat, and we were right. The food was lovely, but I was too greedy and forgot about my camera as soon as I sat down.

gallery.jpg

Once lunch was over, we noticed that it was already quite late. Seeing that the journey to Milan was quite unpleasant, we didn’t want to risk any major delays on our way back, so we decided to walk back to the Duomo before going to the station. Now, this is why you shouldn’t take the lead when you don’t know your surroundings: My route to the castle took a whole hour, and the different route we took back to the Duomo, just following the main direction, took 15 minutes. Next time I’ll ask.

I won’t bore you with the dreadful journey back, but I will say that it took a lot longer than our way to there, and the driver left the train for 20min at some random station. He never explained why, but we did make it home after spending a lovely day in Milan!

mark

 

Leave a Reply

